This Is Not The Same As Showering

Showers are icky

Showers are sneaky. Yesterday I felt like I accomplished something because I stood under jets of water and got wet. while nakey. Then I woke up this morning and realized everyone expected me to do it all over again. (‘everyone’ translating to Big Dog who really wanted a walk, and the sleet – which I think was natures signal that today was not a day to strike forth into the countryside in my spotty La Senza pajamas. My Mother and The Boyfriend would usually protest at my lack of ability to shower but they were both out as they are employed and functioning members of society.)

I find small things like ‘self care’, as it is termed in the therapeutic world, stupidly difficult. It is something I am working on. I have spanking brand new toothpaste and I am using it. In 3 days and one morning I have brushed my teeth seven  times.

It saddens me that teeth brushing and face washing and applying body wash to skin is not a challenge for ‘normal’ people as they do not benefit from this shinny happy feeling of accomplishment.

You: -brushes teeth- Lalalalalala normalnormalnormal. Nothing odd here. Just brushing my teeth.

Me: – I AM A SUPER STAR. I AM WONDER WOMAN. I ACCOMPLISH ALL THINGS. MY LIFE HAS PURPOSE. I NEED AN AWARD. IM GOING TO GO MAKE MY AWARD. NO! WAIT! IM GOING TO BRUSH SOME MORE BECAUSE I AM SO FUCKING AWESOME!!!!!!!!

Yes. I win at life by sucking at it. How is that for logic?

But, why share this on the interweb? Because I think it is something a lot of people with a degree of mental wonkyness suffer from. I’m not trying to remove all stigma from the whole entire world by admitting I am good at smelling, but they say the first step are the smalllest.

Here is an article about why mad people hate washing:

Washing when Things Suck (article from a good depression blog; all things depression)

On an Utterly different note- A Good Kindle DownloadPessimism for Beginners by Sophie Hannah. better known as a crime fiction writer this is a compilation of her poetry. I like witty and light hearted poetry. This ticks those boxes. I used to be all high and mighty about poetry and only admit to liking the lofty writers sucks as John Keats and Robert Frost. I have learnt from my past mistakes and admit to better-awareness of the literary world through enjoying rhyme. Tiffany Atkinson’s Kink and Particle is a awesome author if you really utterly and totally despise a rhyming pentameter.

Kink and Particle, Wales Literature

Sophie Hannah, Pessimism for Beginners

Do you like cats? I know there are a few people out there who do not – but mostly everyone agrees cats and amazing. Even if you dislike them as family pets everyone loves cat based humour. This is, possibly, the best cat related advert on the telebox and interwebs.

 

  1. #1 by Helen Anslow on December 16, 2011 - 11:42 pm

    Hey poppet! Reading your blog is like having you here talking to me – I like it. I’m not sure if this posted last time I wrote it or whether it will this time… I will try. Love you!xxx

Leave a Reply

